Rural transformation: 19 NC communities selected for economic program

Rural Transformation: 19 NC Communities Selected For Economic Program

Photo courtesy of Shutterstock.

By Good Info News Wire

May 22, 2024

Nineteen rural communities in NC will take part in a state program aimed at boosting economic development. Here’s who they are.

The Commerce Department has announced that 19 rural communities across North Carolina have been chosen to participate in a program aimed at boosting their capacity to plan, implement, and oversee economic development programs and opportunities.

The Rural Community Capacity (RC2) program is set to commence on-campus training on May 30 at Appalachian State University’s Walker College of Business and East Carolina University’s Master of Public Administration program.

The RC2 program, a component of the Commerce Department’s broader Rural Transformation Grant initiative, aims to provide educational programming, technical assistance, and targeted guidance to local government staff in rural and economically distressed communities. It requires representatives from each of the selected 19 jurisdictions to participate in a variety of on-campus and virtual classes, community-level engagement activities, and specialized training programs. The curriculum includes four core courses mandated by the Department of Commerce and additional targeted courses crafted by the universities’ faculty.

Rural Transformation: 19 NC Communities Selected For Economic Program

Photo courtesy of Walker College of Business at Appalachian State University via Facebook.

North Carolina Commerce Secretary Machelle Baker Sanders noted the significance of the RC2 program in transforming rural economies, saying, “Our rural communities are vibrant places to live and work, but we are stronger when we partner with local government to strengthen their capacity to plan and execute proven economic development strategies.” She also emphasized that the RC2 program provides local governments and their staff with necessary education and implementation grants to ensure their success.

Throughout the RC2 program, communities will have direct access to the Commerce Department’s Rural Planning team, which offers additional training and technical assistance, including a strategic planning process focused on identifying each community’s specific economic development assets and priorities. On successful completion of the RC2 campus curriculum and participation in the Commerce rural planning process, these communities will be eligible to apply for Community Implementation Grants offered by Commerce’s Rural Economic Development Division.

The selected communities include:

  • City of Hickory
  • City of Mount Airy
  • City of Roanoke Rapids
  • Greene County
  • Pamlico County
  • Pitt County
  • Scotland County
  • Town of Andrews
  • Town of Boiling Springs
  • Town of Boone
  • Town of East Arcadia
  • Town of Manteo
  • Town of Mayodan
  • Town of Milton
  • Town of Mount Gilead
  • Town of Princeton
  • Town of Rhodhiss
  • Town of Stem

Assistant Secretary for Rural Development at the Commerce Department, Kenny Flowers, emphasized the importance of intentional preparation for success in economic development and expressed enthusiasm about sharing best practices with more local government officials.

Read More About This
Read More North Carolina News

This article first appeared on Good Info News Wire and is republished here under a Creative Commons license.Rural transformation: 19 NC communities selected for economic programRural transformation: 19 NC communities selected for economic program

This story was generated in part by AI and edited by Cardinal & Pine staff.




Local News

Related Stories
Share This