President Trump Has Been Impeached Again. Here’s How Your Representative Voted.

WASHINGTON, DC - JANUARY 13: Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) (C) wears a protective mask while walking to the House Floor during a vote on the impeachment of President Donald Trump at the U.S. Capitol on January 13, 2021 in Washington, DC. The House of Representatives moved forward with impeachment following Vice President Mike Pences refusal to use the 25th amendment to remove Trump from office after protestors breached the U.S. Capitol last week. (Photo by Stefani Reynolds/Getty Images)

By Billy Ball

January 13, 2021

Despite the president’s involvement in a violent attack on the Capitol, no Republican members from NC voted to impeach Trump.

The election’s over. President Trump’s administration is nearly history. 

But in the waning days of his presidency, a bipartisan group of lawmakers in the US House of Representatives is voting — in response to a staggering breach of security in the Capitol Building — to impeach Donald Trump again. 

“Make no mistake, the choice is clear: we either stand as guardians of justice and democracy, or as appeasers of fascism, autocracy, and white supremacy,” US Rep. Alma Adams, a Democrat from North Carolina, said in a statement Wednesday.

Facts are our north star. Subscribe to the free Cardinal & Pine newsletter here.

“I think this is one of those votes that transcends any kind of political implication of the moment,” GOP Rep. Adam Kinzinger of Illinois said Wednesday, according to CNN. “This is one of those that you’re going to look back on when you’re 80 and this will be the one you talk about.”

As of this hour, Kinzinger is one of a handful of Republican members of Congress to vote to impeach the president again.

None of those GOP members hailed from North Carolina, which isn’t particularly surprising. All but one of NC’s Republican House members supported the president’s attempt to overturn the election on bogus claims that the election was “stolen” or “rigged.”

All of NC’s Democrats in the DC delegation in the House supported the impeachment. 

We want to make it easy for you to see which of your representatives supported this historic rebuke of President Trump. Scroll below for an easy guide.

US House of Representatives

G.K. Butterfield

Democrat (1st)


Deborah Ross

Democrat (2nd)


Greg Murphy

Republican (3rd)

Not Voting

David Price

Democrat (4th)


Virginia Foxx

Republican (5th)

Don’t Impeach

From a statement Tuesday: “If my Democrat colleagues are focused on moving the country forward, they should work with Republicans to find appropriate remedies that don’t jeopardize that aim. President-Elect Biden will be sworn in on January 20th, and we must ensure a smooth and orderly transition of power. Another round of impeachment moves the needle further away from that outcome.”

Kathy Manning

Democrat (6th)


From a statement last week: “President Trump invited violent rioters to the U.S. Capitol and encouraged the mob to breach the Capitol building and attempt a coup. This seditious act comes just days after he was caught on tape soliciting election fraud in the state of Georgia. He must be removed from office immediately,” said first-term Rep. Kathy Manning, a Greensboro Democrat, in a statement.

David Rouzer

Republican (7th)

Don’t Impeach

From a statement this week: “The impeachment of President Trump today does nothing to unite this country; it only makes that effort more difficult in the coming weeks and months ahead. Today’s impeachment is knee-jerk reaction grounded in anger and disgust, which are genuine emotions that we all feel. But those are not legitimate or appropriate reasons to impeach — particularly when there have been no hearings and we still do not know the full set of facts from that day.”

Richard Hudson

Republican (8th)

Don’t Impeach

Dan Bishop

Republican (9th)

Don’t Impeach

From the News & Observer: “Congress can disapprove, revile, condemn, even censure. But you cannot, consistent with the rule of law, punish that which the Constitution’s First Amendment declares protected,” Bishop said during morning debate on the House floor. “If you do it, the violators of duty to this Constitution, however angry, will be those who vote for this article of impeachment.”

Patrick McHenry

Republican (10th)

Don’t Impeach

From a statement: “While this transfer of power has not been peaceful, it is still moving forward. Let’s focus on ensuring that happens, as our Constitution and our laws demand.”

Madison Cawthorn

Republican (11th)

Don’t Impeach

Alma Adams

Democrat (12th)


Ted Budd

Republican (13th)

Don’t Impeach


  • Billy Ball

    Billy Ball is Cardinal & Pine's senior community editor. He’s covered local, state and national politics, government, education, criminal justice, the environment and immigration in North Carolina for almost two decades, winning state, regional and national awards for his reporting and commentary.

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized


Local News

Related Stories
Share This